I think I found a way to add gauges to 7 inch tablets running FlightMap

Posted on Updated on

A big feature request for FlightMap is to support the flight gauges on 7 inch tablets. It became clear early on that there is just not enough screen available to have it look like the 10 inch version of FlightMap so I targeted the first release to be the main navigation features of the app. I under estimated how much people liked the gauges. With that in mind I’ve come up with the following option that I think works pretty well.

Screenshot_2013-09-27-13-27-27_framed

Now at first glance it doesn’t look like much but if you look right at the top of the screen there is a grabber bar. Swipe down from the top of the screen and you get the gauges like so

Screenshot_2013-09-27-13-27-20_framed

A swipe back up will close the gauges. This is not the final look. I’m still working on it and this is very preliminary but I think it is looking pretty good.

I am also working on refactoring how all of the tablet sizes are laid out to be far more resilient to things like tablets that don’t have the software buttons and things like that. The gauges for 7 inch tablets will likely be the big feature update for this next release.

Leave a Reply

