Troubleshooting FlightConnect with FSX

Posted on Updated on

For the new STEAM version of FSX:

I’ve had a few support cases from new users of the Steam version of FSX. The issue is with FlightConnect crashing on launch. It looks like sometimes the SimConnect library is not installed properly when the rest of FSX is installed thru Steam. This can be easily fixed by manually installing SimConnect from the installation directory of FSX. In my case it exists here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FSX\SDK\Core Utilities Kit\SimConnect SDK\LegacyInterfaces\FSX-XPACK\SimConnect.msi
Once that is successfully installed FlightConnect for FSX should function.

 For older FSX versions:

FlightConnect requires SP2 of FSX to function. If that version of FSX is not installed then the application will prompt you to install it and then exit. To resolve the issue follow the instructions below:

If it’s the original version please make sure FSX is upgraded to SP2 or that the Acceleration CD has been installed. FlightConnect uses a library that Microsoft provided to communicate with FSX and the message is because FlightConnect can not find that library.

For the original version of FSX the service packs can be found here and must be installed in order:

Service Pack 1

Service Pack 2

If you have already installed SP2 or the Acceleration CD then I have seen one occurrence where the library used to communicate with FSX was not updated. When that happens reinstalling the acceleration pack or SP2 update as administrator (right click on setup or MSI and select run as admin) should fix it or you might be able to install this package: http://www.flight1software.com/files/SimConnect.msi
8 thoughts on “Troubleshooting FlightConnect with FSX

    James said:
    January 1, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    Hi,

    Unfortunately FlightConnect does not seem to work for me (I have FSX:SE installed). Even with the SimConnect.msi workaround suggested above, FlightConnect just crashes on startup (installation works fine). Any more ideas would be greatly appreciated. I have the full version of FlightMap and trial of FlightGuage on my tablet so would be great to get this working.

    Many thanks,

    James.

      vineripesoftware responded:
      January 1, 2015 at 4:06 pm

      Hello James,

      The only hard crash I know of occurs when the simconnect library is not registered correctly. Everyone I have heard from so far has had it work with the workaround. Since that did not work you could try installing it from here:

      http://www.flight1software.com/files/SimConnect.msi

      When you download the file I would right click on it and say run as administrator as well. The download is from a very reputable site.

      I am still trying to find a way to resolve the hard crash and give a better error message. Hopefully I can figure it out soon so the app can be more proactive in helping users with this issue.

        lTHALo said:
        April 1, 2016 at 10:01 am

        Como assim como eu

    James said:
    January 2, 2015 at 11:19 am

    Many thanks for your quick reply and for your advice.

    The additional SimConnect.msi file unfortunately did not work. Reading back over my original post – I see it was actually rather misleading as I have had FlightConnect working before with FSX:SE but since a reinstall it no longer works. So I think this must be a rather specific issue related to reinstallation and possible lingering registry files? I re-installed FSX:SE to move it to my primary, solid-state hard drive in the hope of speeding thing up a little (a rather worthless exercise in the end as improvements in performance have been negligible!). However, since this reinstall FlightConnect crashes. An uninstall and reinstall of FlightConnect unfortunately did not fix this.

    There is a lot on the steam forum right now concerning SFX installations and third party software issues so I was sure to do a complete clean install including removal of orphaned FSX registry entries that people have commented on in the forums. This seemed to work and addons such as orbx all install ok. Out of curiosity I downloaded your Prepared3D version of FlightConnect as this was not on my machine prior to the reinstall and this does run ok and sits in the task bar without complaint. Could this possibly therefore mean (not that I am an expert on this!) that there is a lingering registry entry that I need to delete associated with FlightConnect(FSX) and my previous FSX:SE install? Sorry to have bothered you with this – I guess this is a rather unique issue that others are unlikely to come across.

    Best Wishes,

    James.

      vineripesoftware responded:
      January 2, 2015 at 4:44 pm

      The fact that the Prepar3D version is not crashing would indicate it is an issue with the SimConnect library. I don’t believe that OrbX utilizes it. FSUIPC does I do know that. Have you tried installing that application?

      FlightConnect doesn’t rely on registry entries to function so a reinstall shouldn’t be necessary of my software. It must be registry related as it sounds like simConnect is not finding FSX. I’ll do a little digging around as well and see what I can come up with.

      vineripesoftware responded:
      January 3, 2015 at 1:52 pm

      I have found a couple more things you can try. The first is running a registry fixer

      http://www.flight1software.com/files/FS_Registry_Repair.exe

      Then you can try installing SimConnect from either of the locations previously mentioned.

      If that does not work then I would make sure directx is updated:

      Run the Microsoft DirectX installer here: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=35

      and then try removing any of the following from the winsxs directory:

      C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\

      -Delete these entries 3:
      x86_Microsoft.FlightSimulator.SimConnect_67c7c14424d61b5b_10.0.60905.0_….
      x86_Microsoft.FlightSimulator.SimConnect_67c7c14424d61b5b_10.0.61242.0_….
      x86_Microsoft.FlightSimulator.SimConnect_67c7c14424d61b5b_10.0.61259.0_….

      Then rerun either of the simconnect installers again.

      One of these options should fix the issue. I’m attempting to fix the crash in FlightConnect now. I found some info that may allow me to catch it. It won’t make it work unless simconnect is properly installed but will at least give a better error message.

        John B. said:
        December 13, 2015 at 1:26 pm

        Hi – I just purchased Flightmap 2.9.0 and it won’t connect to FlightConnect. I’m running the steam version of FSX. The strange thing is I used the trial version and it worked perfectly. The IP addresses match, don’t know what’s wrong. Suggestions? Thanks. – John B.

        vineripesoftware responded:
        December 13, 2015 at 5:04 pm

        Hello John. That is quite strange as they are basically identical. First thing I would do is uninstall the trial version if you have not already. Then restart FlightConnect on the pc. Just shut it down and start it back up. Once that is done launch the paid version of FlightMap and hit the discover button. Is FlightMap able to discover the ip address of FlightConnect? If it does then try to hit the launch button and see if it will now connect. If it is able to discover but not connect then that means FlightConnect has the wrong ip address configured. Open up the FlightConnect settings and check the ip address. Let me know if this doesn’t fix it. My email is ebanker@vineripeconsulting.com

Leave a Reply

