FlightMap 2.9.0 Released to the Play Store

Posted on Updated on

Over the past few months I have seen an increase in application crashes due to memory issues. Almost all of these crashes were deep in the Google Maps library which FlightMap uses for the map view. This was caused by an update to the Google Play Services on the user’s tablet in July. I have made a number of changes to FlightMap to mitigate this problem and I believe I have worked around it.

Google has been making a lot of changes to Android over the last year and FlightMap and FlightGauge will continue to get updates to keep in line with these changes. My day job and life have slowed updates down a bit but I do have plans for updates to both applications in the near future.

On a different note, I have had to remove the country of Japan from countries FlightMap and FlightGauge are sold in. As of October 1st individuals are required to pay taxes directly to the Japanese government and I do not have the resources to deal with this. If you are a user from Japan you will still be able to use the application I just won’t be selling it in that country any more and I am truly sorry for this.

2 thoughts on “FlightMap 2.9.0 Released to the Play Store

    Achim said:
    February 6, 2016 at 4:35 am

    I downloaded the free trial version, now my questions about the pay version before buying:
    – Is it possible to display the whole track, not only the next way point, say: to display on the map a complete FSX flight plan generated by a third party tool ?
    – May it be possible in a future version to replace the fuel gauges by a vertical speed indicator (heli flying made easier 😉 ?

      vineripesoftware responded:
      February 6, 2016 at 11:32 am

      The trick is to load it in after FlightConnect is running. It listens for events from Flight Simulator to know where to load in the flightplan. If you load FlightConnect after loading the flight plan in FSX then you will only get the next way point as you describe.

      I have thought about making the gauges configurable by tapping on them in FlightMap but there has not been a lot of requests for that feature. I usually run FlightGauge on a separate tablet these days. I’ll put the request down for a future version.

Leave a Reply

